Collections Management Systems

Reviews and comments on CMS

Home Online Communities Curatorial Collections Management Systems

This topic contains 3 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Bob Schmitt 4 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
Author Posts
Author Posts
July 3, 2014 at 2:23 pm #1464

Bob Schmitt

Hi all-

There are nearly 40 collections management systems (software) available to museums and collections.

Although I am relatively new to museum processes and CMS, I’ve been promoting the Greenstone Digital Library software for car archives for almost 3 years, as a volunteer interested in car history.

Collections management systems should truly help “manage” a collection – this is the difference between this category of software and the digital library software or “content management systems”.  An intro to CMS is at http://CarLibrary.org/CMS.htm and a matrix of systems is at  http://CarLibrary.org/CMS-Table.htm

Does your collection/museum use a CMS?  Please shared your experiences and recommendations!

My observations show MANY collections have not moved beyond Excel (or similar) to track their cars and library material.

I heard much about PastPerfect prior to and at the NAAM conference,  so I contacted them and found one of their VPs is an enthusiastic “car guy”.   I downloaded their demo and customized it for car-type data – with help from the PastPerfect tech support.

My experiences are summarized at http://CarLibrary.org/PastPerfect.htm – with two videos!  This software is extremely popular, used world-wide and is probably the lowest cost of all the proprietary CMSs.   Although I don’t have daily collections management responsibilities, I think any collection still using paper files or Excel will benefit greatly from trying PastPerfect.

I’d be glad to personally help any collection with this software – or any other you may choose.

Cheers!

Bob

August 2, 2014 at 3:08 pm #1470

Bob Schmitt

Hi all –